Un par de canciones

The All American Rejects es una banda usana que conocí hace 12 años con su álbum Move Along, con canciones como el título del disco, Dirty Little Secret o It ends tonight. Con su siguiente cd tuvieron incluso más éxito pero se estrellaron con el siguiente. Llevan un tiempo sin sacar nada pero el año pasado incluyeron esta canción en una banda sonora:

There’s a place
Somewhere that’s between dream and awake
That’s where we’ll find each other
And I know that that sounds stupid
It’ll give us both something to find

When we were kids
All run-and-gun and back-talk kinda kids
We’d get drunk out on the sidewalk and we’d laugh ourselves home
Used to do that kinda shit all the time
And what I fight today
I always keep those yesterdays in my mind

All I want, wanted
Was to be want, wanted by you

Cause when goodbyes
Get easy, we’ll all be alone
But why God, why?
Can’t this one just be even though
That I’m gearing up for this battle
Even if I know that I may never win
When you throw yourself away
Just to throw yourself away again

All I want, wanted
Was to be want, wanted by you
All I need, I needed
Was to be need, needed by you

In your heart, that’s where I’ll always be
Now close your eyes and I will never leave
It’s funny how I see us hand in hand
I miss you already, understand
That I know that you aren’t ready
But you don’t get to pick the day
That the worst one in your life will land right on
I can hear you beg for more
I can hold you in this song

All I want, wanted
Was to be want, wanted by you
By you, by you, and honey
All I need, all I needed
Yeah, was to be, just to be needed by you

Your subtleties
They strangle me
I can’t explain myself at all.
And all the wants
And all the needs
All I don’t want to need at all.

The walls start breathing
My mind’s unweaving
Maybe it’s best you leave me alone.
A weight is lifted
On this evening
I give the final blow.

When darkness turns to light,
It ends tonight
It ends tonight.

A falling star
Least I fall alone.
I can’t explain what you can’t explain.
You’re finding things that you didn’t know
I look at you with such disdain

The walls start breathing
My mind’s unweaving
Maybe it’s best you leave me alone.
A weight is lifted
On this evening
I give the final blow.

When darkness turns to light
It ends tonight,
It ends tonight.
Just a little insight won’t make this right
It’s too late to fight
It ends tonight,
It ends tonight.

Now I’m on my own side
It’s better than being on your side
It’s my fault when you’re blind
It’s better that I see it through your eyes

All these thoughts locked inside
Now you’re the first to know

When darkness turns to light
It ends tonight,
It ends tonight.
Just a little insight won’t make this right
It’s too late to fight
It ends tonight,
It ends

When darkness turns to light
It ends tonight,
It ends tonight.
Just a little insight won’t make this right
It’s too late to fight
It ends tonight,
It ends tonight.

Tonight
Insight
When darkness turns to light,
It ends tonight.

 

O esta obra maestra de la banda sonora de Dirty Dancing:

She’s like the wind through my tree
She rides the night next to me
She leads me through moonlight
Only to burn me with the sun
She’s taking my heart
But she doesn’t know what she’s done
Feel her breath on my face
Her body close to me
Can’t look in her eyes
She’s out of my league
Just a fool to believe
I have anything she needs
She’s like the wind
I look in the mirror and all I see
Is a young old man with only a dream
Am I just fooling myself
That she’ll stop the pain
Living without her
I’d go insane
I feel her breath on my face
Her body close to me
Can’t look in her eyes
She’s out of my league
Just a fool to believe
I have anything she needs
She’s like the wind
Feel your breath on my face
Your body close to me
Can’t look in your eyes
You’re out of my league
Just a fool to believe
Just a fool to believe
She’s like the wind
Just a fool to believe
Just a fool to believe
She’s like the wind
Just a fool to believe
Just a fool to believe
She’s like the wind
Just a fool to believe
Just a fool to believe
She’s like the wind
Just a fool
She’s like the wind
She’s like the wind
Just a fool
She’s like the wind
Just a fool

